Foolproof Banana Bread


Growing up, whenever we had over-ripe bananas in the house, my stepmom and I would make banana bread with the beautiful and coveted Kitchen Aid mixer, which I can only hope that I have in my kitchen one day. My job was to measure out the ingredients and help pour them into the mixer and I remember watching with excitement as they swirled and blended together to make heaven.  The best part was and still is licking (or taking entire spoonfuls of) batter from the bowl and wooden spoon, even if it meant getting a tummy ache. Why does batter on a wooden spoon taste so incredible?

The spicy sweet aromas that float from the oven through the house during the excruciating hour of baking banana bread makes my mouth salivate and my tummy grumble.  Once the bread is done, I have no self-control and am unable to prevent myself from cutting a piping hot piece and tossing it back and forth in my hand as I take my first of many bites.

Last weekend I clumsily whipped up my stepmom’s famous banana bread in a matter of minutes and popped it into the oven an hour before having to leave the house.  An hour later, when we were getting ready to go, I stuck a fork into the middle of my bread and was strangely greeted by goo.  I stalled for as long as I could but finally took the bread out of the oven so that we would not be late and it proceeded to collapse on itself. I sadly accepted the fact that this banana bread was a dud but there were too many confounders to identify where I went wrong.

This week I was determined to get back on that horse and bake a successful banana bread.  I decided to try a different recipe and chose Smitten Kitchen’s Jacked Up Banana Bread.  I meticulously measured every ingredient and followed every direction to the T, which is not my MO, but I figured I needed a guarenteed win after last weeks failure.  The batter looked and tasted amazing (check), the smells coming from the oven were salivating (check), the bread was rising, browning, and cracking down the middle (check), and lastly my fork came back clean (check).

Foolproof Banana Bread 

Ingredients

  • 3 over-ripe mashed bananas
  • 1/3 cup melted butter
  • 1 cup light brown sugar
  • 1 beaten egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp ground cloves
  • 1 1/2 cup wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup coarsely chopped walnuts

Directions

  1. preheat the oven to 350F (176C)
  2. melt the butter in the microwave for about 30 seconds and mash the bananas
  3. mix together the butter, mashed bananas, sugar, egg, vanilla, baking powder, salt, cinnamon, nutmeg, and clove
  4. slowly add the flour and mix thoroughly
  5. stir in the chopped walnuts
  6. pour the batter into a buttered bread pan and bake for about 1 hour or until your fork comes out clean
  7. if you have self-control and are able to wait for the bread to cool, it will easily slide out of the pan
One thought on “Foolproof Banana Bread

Leave a Reply

